An Eye for an Eye in the VI

Today, The Virgin Islands lost yet another young man in an act of senseless violence.

Just yesterday I was thinking to myself, it has been a while since someone died over the weekend, and I was praising the change that I thought was coming. I honestly believed that we, as a people, were growing above the pathetic, uncivil and moral less behavior that was becoming a normal custom to the Islands.

But I was wrong.

It saddens me to think that we are still living in such a state. No, It SICKENS me. Had we not learned anything from Monday’s tragedy in Boston? Had we not learned that every life was precious? Apparently not.

What worries me now, is the retaliation that is sure to follow and that soon to come retaliation is why I am writing this post.

The young man was well known and it seems he had many friends. Of them, I saw many posts that spoke of revenge, an eye for an eye. The rage written in these posts sent a shiver down my spine as I know that all it will do is leave yet another bloody and mournful path for us to walk on.

An eye for an eye does not bring justice. Revenge nor any form of vigilante justice will bring peace to his soul. All it will do is create a domino effect and leave a trail of bodies at our wake.

Revenge is never the answer. No matter how much you feel that someone “deserves” death, you are not God, you do not have the right to take the life of another, and all you will be doing is setting yourself up to become the very person that you just put to death.

Murdering a Murderer Makes you a Murderer too.

You cannot fight Hatred with More Hatred.

Do not blind yourself with revenge nor fill your hearts with darkness.

Everyone believes that they are fighting the good fight by wishing death on another after a crime is committed, however, if this keeps up, There won’t be a VI to fight for.

Think about it.

Peace. And R.I.P Troy Dubs Joseph.

Leave a Reply

