Keeping In Touch

People always assume that when someone doesn’t hit them up, the person doesn’t care about them or isn’t trying to find time. I was one of those people. But I have come to understand that this isn’t necessarily true.

I have friends that I don’t talk to for months on end, but when we do speak it’s like there was never a gap in communication. Folks have their own lives to live and honestly it won’t kill you if you don’t hear from them in a while.

This is hardest when you have a spouse. I mean, anyone would be pissed if they hadn’t heard from their significant other in a week. I get antsy when I haven’t heard from him in a few days. I think that’s normal.

But communication is a two-way street. I hate when I haven’t heard from someone in a while and then they text me and ask why they haven’t heard from me. If you really wanted to talk to me, You would take your own phone and contact me. It’s not that hard really. Yes, you may get tired of being the one to always talk to the person first, but with that you have two options.

1) You can either stop talking to them first (duh) and let them do what they’re doing. If they want to talk to you, they will, if not, oh well.

2) Or you can keep doing what you’re doing and be the one to always reach out to the person/persons.

It’s really just that simple.

Just because I don’t keep in touch often doesn’t mean I don’t care, nor that I have stopped speaking to you. If you have a facebook or something, chances are I am watching in the background like the creeper that I am. I pay attention honestly. And when ready, I may just pop up and say HI! Or if I see you’re down, I’ll try to cheer you up. Hell, feel free to pop in if you have a problem. I sure won’t turn you away.

So think nothing of the silence.

Admit it, Even you get annoyed when someone tries to talk to you everyday at every waking moment. Lack of distance could just be what leads to you and that person/those people falling out.

Or maybe even though they are your friend, that person is just really boring to talk to…

What? Don’t be surprised. You know it’s true.

Leave a Reply

